Home » Combat Sports » Judo » The 2013 Judo Rules

The 2013 Judo Rules


A few years ago, the International Judo Federation (IJF) has initiated a change in their strategy, in which an attacking style of judo will be rewarded and techniques that resemble wrestling are eliminated as much as possible.

With this new set of rules that are in force from 2013, the judo federation hopes to make the sport more attractive. These new judo rules remain in force at least until the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

This article will give you an overview of the most important or remarkable changes in the judo rules.

Changes judo rules

  • The official weigh-in for judokas moved to the evening (19:00 local time) prior to match day.
  • There is only one referee on the judo mat. Another referee is sitting at a video table.
  • Handshaking after saluting is now allowed anymore.
  • At International Judo Federation events, the system of a second chance applies from the quarter finals.
  • A pin started within the judo mat remains a stranglehold, even if you move outside of the mat.
  • The judo pin times have changed: an Ippon is now 20 seconds, a Waza-Ari 15 seconds and a Yuko is now 10 seconds.
  • An Ippon is only given when there is a full back landing with impact.
  • Any situation of landing on a bridge position will be considered an Ippon for the one who made the throw.
  • A Shido for the opponent, does not result in a score for the other. When both are tied, the one with the fewest Shidos wins.  Two Shidos is not a Yuko for the opponent anymore. As before, four Shidos is disqualification.
  • The Golden Score does not have a time limit anymore. The person who first gets a score or shido against him or her, loses the match. The decision by Hantei has been abolished.
  • The age category up to 17 years changes in the age category up to 18 years. Arm clamps are allowed in this category. The age category up to 20 years changes in the age category up to 21 years.
  • The maximum size of a team at a tournament is 18 persons, nine women and nine men and a maximum of two persons per weight class.

(Sources: IJF, JBN)

Sport Categories